Learn more about this specific CBC activity: obst - icon
Learn more about other CBC activities in the same field: issue - icon obst - icon sol - icon


Area of CBC activity Other
Sector of CBC activity Institutional cooperation
Please, briefly describe the CBC activity you wanted to pursue The European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation is a Community legal instrument at the service of public entities willing to develop projects and activities of common interest in the field of territorial cooperation. Regulation (EC) No 1082/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 July 2006 on a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation is directly applicable in all EU Member States. The Slovak Republic has adopted a national provision to the Regulation with Act No. 90/2008 Coll., which entered into force on 1 May 2008. The main advantages and limitations of the EGTC instrument have been generally identified as follows:

  • Own legal framework – as mentioned above;
  • Legal personality – The EGTC shall have in each Member State the most extensive legal capacity accorded to legal personnel under that Member State’s national law;
  • Own budget and property – The EGTC acquires and disposes of movable and immovable property;
  • Ability to employ staff;
  • The EGTC has limited number of compulsory organs;
  • The EGTC covers all types of territorial cooperation;
  • Participation entities of third countries – A member of such a grouping may be the subject of third countries (assuming that it allows the legal system of a third country respectively separate agreement between Member States and third countries);
  • The EGTC offers a new alternative to existing legal formats of cooperation.

Two EGTCs were established in the Slovak Republic, the EGTC Kras-Bodva, limited and the EGTC Pons Danubii, limited. The EGTC Kras-Bodva ltd. was established in April 2009. It consists of 1 local authority from the Slovak Republic and 2 local authorities from Hungary. The EGTC Pons Danubii ltd. was established in December 2010. It consists of 3 local authorities from the Slovak Republic and 3 local authorities from Hungary. These EGTCs motivation create a visible and permanent structure of cross-border cooperation for the management of joint projects

Border areas (states involved) Slovakia, EU Member State
Institution The European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation, The European Parliament, Slovak Republic
Contact details Ms. Eva Chmelová, Director,

Organisational Department Public Administration Section,

Ministry of Interior of the Slovak Republic

Phone: +421 2 4859 2150

mail to:  eva.chmelova@mvsr.vs.sk

Year of record 2012