Learn more about other CBC activities in the same field: issue - icon obst - icon sol - icon


Area of CBC activity Other
Sector of CBC activity Institutional cooperation
Please, briefly describe the CBC activity you wanted to pursue Pursuant to the European Outline Convention on Transfrontier Co-operation between Local Communities or Authorities the Slovak Republic has signed bilateral intergovernmental agreements on transfrontier cooperation with Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Ukraine and Austria. This has created a legal framework for support and further development for transfrontier cooperation with neighbouring countries.

Once these agreements were signed intergovernmental commissions were created for transfrontier cooperation (Slovak-Polish with its first meeting in 1996, Slovak-Czech with the first meeting in 2002, Slovak-Ukrainian with the first meeting in 2004 and Slovak-Hungarian with the first meeting in 2004).

The main objective of their work is to support and facilitate cross-border cooperation by providing a forum where all stakeholders and relevant authorities may meet and identify obstacles hindering cross-border cooperation, and jointly discuss and propose solutions in the form of recommendations to relevant authorities or institutions. At the same time they provide a forum for exchange of best practices.

Border areas (states involved) Slovakia, Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Ukraine
Institution Slovak Republic, Local Communities or Authorities of Slovakia
European Outline Convention on Transfrontier Co-operation
Contact details Ms. Eva Chmelová, Director,

Organisational Department Public Administration Section

Ministry of Interior of the Slovak Republic

phone: +421 2 4859 2150,

mail to:  eva.chmelova@mvsr.vs.sk

Year of record 2012